News:

"It occured to me while drunk, so it must have been genius."

Main Menu

Question Time

Started by Sierra, November 14, 2007, 11:54:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sierra

So, with the opening section pretty much out of the way, I thought I'd steal a cue from Dune (don't worry, this is the only time I'll do that!) and request some feedback.

Technical Stuff

1. As I've mentioned before, this is my first time GMing anything, not to mention my first time being involved in an IRC game. I've no doubt that it shows to some extent, so: helpful pointers?

2. Tristat dX. I wouldn't call it elegant, but I've found it adequate for my needs thus far. Of course, it helps that I tend to keep actual rolling to a minimum outside of combat. Any thoughts/gripes/suggestions for improvement in regards to the numbers side of things?

Macro Stuff

3. Structured storyline versus free exploration...we've had a lot of the former in the prelude, and the result has not always been precisely the game I intended. I felt it was necessary for the PCs to have to get to know each other and the setting, but I think we're past that now. So, what we have ahead of us is essentially Sandbox Time--there is an overplot, yes, but it should find you through your interactions with NPCs and individual pursuits and/or occupations. Does this sound more or less appealing than the approach thus far? (Well, we know what the PCs think of that...) In a sense, this has already begun: going after Dane was always expected to be an Arc 1 mission, but your PCs went ahead and took the initiative before graduation (this was a pleasant surprise, yes).

4. Pacing. Ties in with the above, naturally. It's probably apparent that the school stuff took much, much longer than I intended it to. This is only partly attributable to missed sessions. Did it feel that things were dragging at points, or was that just me being overly critical as always?