News:

"It occured to me while drunk, so it must have been genius."

Main Menu

Prelude 3: Diversions

Started by Sierra, August 13, 2007, 10:03:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sierra

Pilfer's weekend:

<El-Cideon> Saturday, May 30th. It is a hot morning amidst the bustle of Bazaar district on the busiest market day of the week. Patrons of all ranks stride back and forth across the steaming cobbles, variously responding to or ignoring the cries of eager vendors according to personal inclination.(more)
<El-Cideon> Any common item can be found in the center of the district, a wide public gathering place that also serves as the largest de facto open-air eatery in the city. Outside of that the market becomes more specialized, shops and stalls tending to clump together by trade: pottery here, textiles and footwear elsewhere. Jewelers tend to cluster at the east end of the District, near the artisans' haunt of Chalcedony.(more)
<El-Cideon> The vibrant, ever-shifting mass of customers and merchandise provide ample opportunity for sightseeing or more--of course, Watch officers sidle through the throng as well, watchful of both customers and merchants.
* Pilfer wandered along the narrow aisle between clamoring merchants, who thrust their goods out, desperately trying to attract the thick-waisted matrons sailing through the crowds with their bags and baskets. A well-dressed couple briefly caught Pilfer's eye, but he noticed the brand of a mafioso's sigil of protection on the man's leather wristguard, and passed them by, just another face in the crowd. He slid past a Watchman, barely repressing
<Pilfer> a twitch of apprehension. It had been a long time since he'd needed to duck and run at their coming, but an equally long time since he'd had proper run of the streets. His old skills were getting rusty; fooling college porters and dodging rickety professors was hardly a good way to keep in practice.